WhatsApp Delete for Everyone Feature officially live

delete for everyone feature

WhatsApp Delete for Everyone feature is now officially available to all. The Delete for Everyone, or revoke feature was a much demanded feature on the most popular instant messaging service, and essentially allows users to delete messages for everyone that have been sent to either a group or an individual chat. One of the biggest use of the Delete for Everyone feature can be when you send a message to the wrong chat or if the message sent contains a mistake.
This feature is said to be one of the most requested one, and is likely to make things slightly easier for WhatsApp users.
“Starting today you can now delete messages you sent by mistake – whether to one person or an entire group,” writes WhatsApp. What the important is, this feature will be available only for the users with the latest version of the app. So, if you have the new WhatsApp version already downloaded – you’ll automatically get the “delete for everyone” and in case you still haven’t got the feature, head on to Play store and update the app.
You have seven minutes to delete the message after it’s sent. This feature is rolling out for users around the world on the latest versions of iPhone, Android, Windows Phone as well as desktop.

“Both you and the message recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for the message to be successfully deleted,” WhatsApp said. WhatsApp was working on this feature for almost a year.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats. Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone. WhatsApp has over 200 million monthly active users in India and 1.2 billion users worldwide.
The new feature on WhatsApp is applicable on all types of messages, including texts, pictures, GIFs, videos, contacts, and more. It should be noted that the delete for everyone feature will not work for broadcast messages and quoted texts. The WhatsApp delete for everyone feature will work not only on personal chats but also on group messages. Notably, in order to recall a message, the only condition is that the receiver should not have read the message that the user had sent. Interestingly, the report also indicates that WhatsApp is also working on a feature where users will be able to edit sent text messages as well.

Also Read: Whatsapp all set to bring back Whatsapp text status feature!!